Romance/Drama Review

Review: Two By Two by Nicholas Sparks 

Amazon Blurb

At 32, Russell Green has it all: a stunning wife, a lovable six year-old daughter, a successful career as an advertising executive and an expansive home in Charlotte. He is living the dream, and his marriage to the bewitching Vivian is the center of that. But underneath the shiny surface of this perfect existence, fault lines are beginning to appear…and no one is more surprised than Russ when he finds every aspect of the life he took for granted turned upside down. In a matter of months, Russ finds himself without a job or wife, caring for his young daughter while struggling to adapt to a new and baffling reality. Throwing himself into the wilderness of single parenting, Russ embarks on a journey at once terrifying and rewarding-one that will test his abilities and his emotional resources beyond anything he ever imagined. 

****

My Review 

Like many, I’ve fallen in love with ‘Sparkie’ books over the years. You can hardly believe a male can write such deep and moving stories. This time though, I’ve been torn. 

I feel like I should get my grievances out of the way first, because I almost feel some-what guilty for having them 🤔.  It was in 1st person POV. It was hard to maintain attention, because it was quite boring for 2/3 of the book. The constant small scene changes were quite annoying and ruined the flow at times. Sometimes the character felt very one-dimensional, which then added to the boredom.  And finally I really disliked the very short time period between Vivian and Emily, but that’s just a personal opinion. 

So what did I like about it?

I like, that after 270 odd pages, that I started finally enjoying it. I admit, I considered quitting, but I’m glad I finished it. I was quite literally bawling at the end 😂😭😭  I’ve made it no secret that 1st POV is not my favourite, but I did start to realise that it was refreshing to have such a personal view of a males feelings. I haven’t been privy to that very much in my life time, so I enjoyed the peak that we were allowed here. I actually quite enjoyed the flashback reminiscing we got at the beginning of each chapter, also. I like that it was upfront in the chapter, instead of being slotted in somewhere in the chapter and the author doing a random flashback between scene changes. 

I loved the emotion during the last 1/3 of the book, so much so that was bawling like a baby 😂 and that’s how it should be reading a sparkie book. I would have liked him to have brought that part of the book further forward in the book, if anything I think he glossed over the things in there to quickly. 

So while it started at as some what of a game train wreck, it did pick up for me toward the back. It’s definitely not what I had been expecting, and maybe that’s what’s influenced my opinion. It’s sometimes hard to break old habits. I think if you start this book being prepared that it’s not a typo I am sparkie book, you might enjoy it that little bit more. Or maybe not… Definitely give it a go though, and finish it, don’t just quit! 

I rate this book: 3/5 

Purchase your ebook copy here at Amazon. 

Happy buying and reading 

Nat 

3 thoughts on “Review: Two By Two by Nicholas Sparks 

Leave a Reply

